KNOWLEDGE BASE

What can a Shared Access user see and do?

Most of what a Shared Access user can do is view-only. There are a few situations when they're allow to do more. Here's an overview:

What Shared Access users can do with delegated accounts

  • View-only

    • Account summary, balance details, spend analysis reports and rewards balances
    • Transaction history (excluding check and deposit slip images)
    • Statements for loans, lines of credit, lease, and investment accounts
  • Create and manage nicknames in their profile
  • Hide and un-hide accounts from their dashboard
  • Include accounts in total assets and liabilities (Wealth delegates only)
  • Access our investments mobile app (when an investment account is delegated)
  • Access our trust mobile app (when a trust account is delegated)

What Shared Access users can't do with delegated accounts

  • Use mobile check deposit
  • Intentionally overdraw an account
  • Transact between U.S. Bank accounts and external accounts (e.g., wire transfers)
  • Create, edit, or cancel recurring account transfers or payments
  • Edit or cancel one-time transfers scheduled 30 days in advance or more

Wealth and business account owners

If you have a Wealth or business account, you can define additional feature-level permissions. This includes granting the Shared Access user transaction privileges. Transaction privileges allow the shared access user to:

  • Complete transfers between your accounts with U.S. Bank. They can be one-time transfers or future-dated transfers (not to exceed 30 days in advance)
  • Schedule payments to external billers using bill pay, as established by the owner or administrator
  • Edit or cancel any one-time pending or future-dated transfer that they’ve made

Additional information:

Business and personal accounts typically have separate mobile and online banking profiles. Therefore, when the owner sends a Shared Access invitation, it's only valid for that specific banking profile. For example, if a business owner sends a Shared Access invitation, it's only good for that owner's business account profile, not their personal one.

Owners and administrators can review Shared Access user transactions immediately within the U.S. Bank Mobile App. These are found in the Shared Access Manage Users dashboard.

We send paper letters when one of the following actions occur:

  • A user is granted shared access.
  • Access levels are changed.
  • The access to certain money movement products is changed.
  • Daily limits are changed.