KNOWLEDGE BASE

What do I need to know before I upgrade Quickbooks Online?

A business owner or administrator with full access can upgrade Quickbooks Online. Before upgrading, review these possible impacts.

Assess your access to Quickbooks Online

Upgrading is optional. This lets you choose when it’s best for your business to move to the latest version. However, once you move to the latest version, the former is no longer available.

What to do: Don’t upgrade until you’re prepared and it’s a good time for your business to transition.

Expense policy changes

The latest version of Quickbooks Online doesn’t support expense policies that automatically assign the following:

  • General ledger (GL) accounts
  • Classes
  • Locations

In other words, you can still assign the above items as categories. However, they can’t be part of an expense policy any longer.

What to do: Before upgrading, check any expense policies that use these categories and update them as needed.

See also:
What are expense policies in Spend Management?
How do I add a new expense policy in Spend Management?
How do I edit or delete an existing policy in Spend Management?

Sync transactions and previous categories

Transactions with assigned tracking categories will no longer be available in Spend Management after the upgrade. However, transactions that are already synced to Quickbooks Online are not impacted.

What to do:

Automatic categorization rules

If you have automatic categorization rules set, they will automatically move to the latest version of Quickbooks Online.

See also:
What are auto-categorization rules in Spend Management?
How do I set up auto-categorization rules in Spend Management?
How do I edit or delete an auto-categorization rule in Spend Management?